Late Professor K. Kunaratnam

Late Professor K. Kunaratnam           Emeritus Professor in Physics                                                    Former Vice Chancellor of University of JaffnaFormer Dean of the Faculty of Science Founde..


Prof.P.Ravirajan     Professor in Physics University of JaffnaJaffna JA 40 000Sri Lanka Phone : +942225924Fax      : +942222685Email   :,        BSc Hons (Physics)(Jaffna), M..

Physics Society

{tab=Office Bearers} President                    Mr. P. M. Tharshan Peries          Vice-President   Mr. J. Lahiru Sampath Secretary   Ms. V.Janani Asst.Secretary   Mr. M.Sayanthan Junior Treasurer   Ms. G. Thenmolie Editor..


{slide= Solar panel (3.2 kW) installation on the roof of the department |closed|scroll} Panels were donated by Sivananthan Laboratories Inc., USA                 {slide= PV workshop |closed|scroll} PV workshop at the department ..

Staff Members of the Department

Founder Head of the Department Late Professor K.Kunaratnam               BSc Hons (Physics) (Ceylon)     PhD, DIC (London)FRAS (London), F.Inst.P (London),Hon DSc (Jaffna)                            Former Vice Chance..

Courses Physics

Department offers the following degrees: ·      General Degree – Bachelor of Science (Level 1G, 2G, and 3G ) ·      Special Degree – Bachelor of Science (Special) Degree in Physics(Level 1G, 2G, 3G, 3M and 4M)       ..

Contact us

Head/Department of PhysicsFaculty of ScienceUniversity of JaffnaJaffna, JA 40 000, Sri Lanka Phone  :  +94 (0) 21 222 5924               +94 (0) 21 221 8197   Fax     :   +94 (0) 21 222 685   E-mail :

Useful links

Useful links QAAA Department Review Judgement – UoJ   GoogleScholar  ICTP Calendar Career Opportunities    


{tab=Research areas} {slide= Hydrogen Diffusion |closed|scroll}            – Prof.K.Kandasamy {slide= Nanostructured Solar cells |closed|scroll} Hybrid metal oxide / polymer solar cells             – Prof.P.Ravir..